GS6 Speakers

Dr Geraldine Richmond, Gender Summit 6 Asia-Pacific Speaker
President Elect, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry, University of Oregon, USA.

Keynote: The Importance of Women Leading the Way in Research and Innovation
Keynote Speeches

Geraldine (Geri) Richmond is the Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon. Her research using laser spectroscopy and computational methods focusses on understanding the chemistry and physics that occurs at complex interfaces that have relevance to important problems in energy production, environmental remediation and atmospheric chemistry. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the American Physical Society (APS) and the Association for Women in Science. Awards for her scientific accomplishments include the ACS Olin-Garvan Medal, the Spiers Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the ACS Joel H. Hildebrand Award in Theoretical and Experimental Studies of Liquids and the APS Davisson-Germer Prize.

 She is the co-founder and Director of COACh, a grass-roots organization that has helped in the career advancement of thousands of scientists and engineers in the U.S., Asia, Africa and Latin America. Awards for these efforts include the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science and Engineering Mentoring, the ACS Award for Encouraging Women in the Chemical Sciences, the Council on Chemical Research Diversity Award and the ACS Charles L. Parsons Award. Richmond has served on numerous national and international advisory and editorial boards. She is currently serving on the U.S. National Science Board, an independent policy advisory board to the U.S. President and Congress on science and engineering research and education issues. She was recently appointed by Secretary Kerry as the 2015 U.S. Science Envoy for the Lower Mekong River countries and will assume the role of President for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2015-2016.